New publication on Sciuto Tower
Din l-Art Ħelwain collaboration with the town hall of Qrendi, has just published the book Sciuto Tower and walks in Qrendi.
Written by Din l-Art Ħelwa council member Stanley Farrugia Randon, the book gives a detailed history of the watchtower built in 1647 during the reign of Grand Master Jean Paul de Lascaris. Its architecture served as a model for a series of towers built by Grand Master Martino de Redin.
The tower was later used by the British during which time it was occupied by the Royal Malta Fencible Regiment, the Royal Malta Fencible Artillery and the King’s Own Malta Regiment.
During World War II it was used as a coastal observation post by the Coastal Police until it was abandoned in 2002.
In 2013, the tower was included on the list of heritage sites handed over under a government guardianship agreement to Din l-Art Ħelwawho recently restored it.
It is now open to the public by Din l-Art Ħelwa volunteers. Visitors can enjoy a documentary on the neighboring island of Filfla and learn about the history and marine biodiversity of the region through interactive equipment.
The publication gives a detailed account of the surroundings of the tower, as well as the islet of Filfla, and two walking tours of the tower.
The first walk takes the visitor to the Ħaġar Qim and Mnajdra temples, the Congreve memorial, the Tal-Ħamrija tower and the Misqa reservoirs, while the second walk takes the visitor to St. Matthew’s chapel and the depression in the land behind it known as Il-Maqluba.
The publication includes a guided tour of the tower and a quiz for adults and children.
The book was published with funding from the local action group Gal Xlokk through its rural development program for Malta. It is available at Sciuto Tower.
Independent journalism costs money. Support Times of Malta for the price of a coffee.